Kentucky Gaming

Source for Kentucky Gaming Information Header

American Pharoah Wins Horse of the Year Award Plus Other Top Stories

Added on: Jan. 26, 2016

Triple Crown Winner American Pharoah received the most prestigious award for horses at this year’s Eclipse Awards. The Eclipse Award is an American thoroughbred horse racing award which is named after a famous 18th century British racehorse and sire, Eclipse. “We had a phenomenal year,” said American Pharoah trainer, Bob Baffert. “Everything about his story, and about his year, was fantastic,” added Baffert. These comments came from the official ESPN website.

The American Horse of the Year award is the top accolade and some of the other categories & winners this year included the American Champion Two-Year-Old Male Horse award (Nyquist), the American Champion Two-Year-Old Filly award (Songbird), the American Champion Three-Year-Old Male Horse award (American Pharoah) and also the American Champion Three-Year-Old Filly award (Stellar Wind).

The American Champion Older Dirt Male Horse award went to Honor Code. The American Champion Older Dirt Female Horse went to Beholder. The American Champion Sprint Horse award went to Runhappy. The American Champion Female Sprint Horse award went to La Verdad. The American Champion Male Turf Horse award went to Big Blue Kitten and the American Champion Female Turf Horse award went to Tepin.

Dawalan won the Outstanding Steeplechase horse award. Zayat Stables won the Outstanding Owner award and also the Outstanding Breeder award while Bob Baffert won the Outstanding Trainer award. Javier Castellano won the Outstanding Jockey award and Tyler Gaffalione won the Outstanding Apprentice Jockey award.

Leonard Lavin won the Eclipse Award of Merit and American Pharoah won the National Thoroughbred Racing Association Moment of the Year award after his win in the 2015 Belmont Stakes and also for becoming the first winner of the Triple Crown since 1978. In Europe, the equivalent awards ceremony is known as the Cartier Racing Awards. In Canada it’s known as the Sovereign Awards and in Australia it is known as the Australian Thoroughbred racing awards.

In other news, 9-1 shot Discreetness, ridden by Jon Court, caused a major upset on Monday winning the $150,000 Smarty Jones at Oaklawn. This emphatic victory earned him a well-deserved 10 points in the Road to the Kentucky Derby series of races. Discreetness completed the distance in a record time of 1:38.05 over a fast track and paid $20.20. In second place was Gordy Florida, in third place was Synchrony and in fourth place was Luna de Loco. Discreetness is owned by Xpress Thoroughbreds and this latest win means that he has now won four of his six career starts.